Data Organization and Shares

Sharing Data

10.2.1. Sharing data

You can share data with other persons with read or edit access by inviting those persons to a shared item. These users automatically will receive an E-Mail invitation.

The following options exist:

Note the following:

For external partners, the following rules apply:

How to share data with other persons:

  1. Select the app that should be used for sharing data. Select a folder in the folder view.

    In the Drive app, you can also select a folder or file in the display area.

    Note: Depending on the app, some folders can not be shared.

  2. Click the Actions icon next to the folder name. Click on Share / Permissions.

    Click on Permissions in the Email app.

    In the Drive app, you can also click on Share in the toolbar or use the context menu in the display area.

    The window for granting permissions opens.

  3. Note: The following option will not be available in the Email app.

    In Who can access this folder?, you can define whom to grant access to the data:

    • If you exclusively want to share the data with specific persons, select Invited people only.

    • If you want to share the data not only with specific persons, but with all persons who get a link to the data, click on Anyone with the link and invited people.

      Persons with the link can only read the shared data. Other permissions can not be granted for public links.

  4. To invite the wanted persons, enter a name or an email address in Invite people.

    • To set a person's permission, select a user role in Invite as.

    • To adjust the user role of a person added, click on the assigned user role next to the person or on Details.

    • To remove a person's permission, click the Actions icon next to the person. Click on Remove.

    If you invite persons, the Invitation message (optional) input field will be displayed. If required, enter a message.

    If you selected Anyone with the link and invited people, you can pass on the link by clicking on Copy link next to the link.

  5. In order to adjust the settings, click the Sharing options icon in the title bar. The following settings are available:

    Link options:

    • To set a time limit for the access to the shared data, select a time frame in Expiration.

    • To protect the access with a password, enter a password in Password (optional). Make sure the recipient of the public link receives the password.

    Invitation options

    • To automatically send a message to persons who are invited by you to a shared item, enable Send notification by email.

Subordinated actions:

Related topics:

Parent topic: Sharing Data